News, Magazines, & Articles: Newspapers

Searching or Browsing NewsBank:

• Use NewsBank by typing in your query in the Search field, choosing More Search Options to conduct an Advanced Search, or choosing among the popular holdings listed at the bottom of the page to browse by date. To quickly search for current events, select Hot Topics on the bottom-left side of the homepage.

• On the search results page, you will see the article title, publication date, and news source. Each result will also give you a preview of the article, specifically showing instances where your search term(s) were mentioned. Use the filters on the left to narrow your results.
• The article’s webpage provides additional publication information. Across the top of the article, there are icons you can select to choose citation style, adjust text size, email, print, download, share or save to your NewsBank folder.

• Click A-Z Source List on the homepage to browse the full list of sources available in the database. To view image editions of newspapers (exactly as they were printed), choose Format in the drop-down menu and enter “image” in the search box. This will show you all newspapers that have scanned images, such as the Bradenton Herald.
• You are not required to create an account, but can do so by selecting Session Folder on the top of the page and then “Create a Personal Folder.” This can be used to save articles and information found on NewsBank, to access again later.

Accessing The Bradenton Herald:

• Click Bradenton Herald Collection from the NewsBank main page.
• Type in your query in the Search field, select Advanced Search for more options, or choose from the browsable selection at the page to browse by date.

• The Bradenton Herald is available as a limited text-searchable article database (1989-current) or a full-paper image edition (2018-current). Limited Bradenton Herald blogs and videos (2007-2023) are also available.

How to Sign In

1. In the app store on your iOS, Android, or Kindle Fire device, install and open the PressReader: News & Magazines app. If you are using a computer, visit the website at www.pressreader.com.
2. If you are outside of the Library, you need to sign in with your Manatee Library Card.
3. Tap “Sign In” at the bottom of the app screen (see the images below).
4. Tap on the blue “Libraries & Groups” button. Use the search bar to find the Manatee County Public Library.
5. Enter your Library Card number and 4-digit PIN. Tap the green “Sign In” button.

How to Read

• Tap “Browse” in the bottom menu to search for publications by name or browse by category. Use the filter buttons at the top of the screen to narrow by language, country/region, and magazine or newspaper. 
• Tap on a publication. Tap the green “Read” button to download and read the current issue or scroll down to choose a prior issue instead. Tap the calendar button to select a specific date.
• You can access your downloaded issues any time by tapping on “My Library” in the bottom menu.
• While reading, swipe left and right to move between pages and pinch your fingers to zoom in and out. Tap the headphones icon to hear articles read aloud.
• If an article title is highlighted in green, you can tap on it to read that article in a mobile-friendly layout.

Save Your Favorite Publications

• Tap on a publication. Tap “Follow” in the upper right corner. Publications that you follow are shown under “For You” in the bottom menu.
• Tap “Auto-download new issues” if you want new issues of this publication to be automatically delivered to the “My Library” section of the app for easy access.

Delete Downloaded Issues

• When you read an issue in the app, it downloads to your device, which takes up storage space. To delete a downloaded issue, go to “My Library”, select the issue with a long press, and then tap the trash can icon in the upper right corner.

• You can also change your download settings to automatically delete back issues. From “My Library” tap the 3-dot menu in the upper right. Tap “Remove Issues” and choose how many back issues you would like to keep downloaded at

• Type in your query in the Search field, select Advanced Search for more options, or choose from the browsable selection at the page to browse by date.

• The Bradenton Herald is available as a limited text-searchable article database (1989-current) or a full-paper image edition (2018-current). Limited Bradenton Herald blogs and videos (2007-2023) are also available.

Search by Date

• Use the drop-down box to select a year, and then click on the date you wish to view. You will be shown a list of articles published on the date you selected.

• Click on an article title to read the text of the article (no images from the article are available).
• You have the option to listen to an audio version of an article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button. 
• The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles.
• The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. 

Basic Search

• Enter a keyword or phrase into the search box at the top of the screen. The default search will search across the following fields: Full Text, Title, Creator, Publisher, Donor, and Subject.
• Click Other Search Options and then Basic Search for a helpful list of search operators you can use to refine your search query.

Advanced Search

• Click Other Search Options and then Advanced Search.
• You can now add additional search terms, specify which fields to search across, and search by date.

Map/Geographic Search

• Enter an address or location in the search bar above the map OR use the tool buttons below the search bar to select a section of the map.
• Rectangle Box or Radius tool: Click on a starting point on the map and then click on the opposite corner to select an area of the map.
• Marker tool: Select a point on the map to choose a specific location
• Making your selections will produce a list of coordinates. Click Search.

View Results

• Use the filter buttons on the left side of the Results screen to narrow your results.

• Click on the title of the newspaper you would like to view. The record will display publication information, subject tags, and other notes.

• Click on the Permanent Link to read the newspaper.

Reading a Newspaper

• While reading a newspaper, there are a number of tool buttons at the top of the screen.
• Click Zoomable to zoom in and out of the page. Use the arrows to move to the next and previous page.
• Click Search to search for a keyword within the issue you are currently reading.
• Click All Volumes to select a different date/issue of the newspaper you are currently reading.
• Click All Images to view preview images of all pages in the issue.
• Use the Print and Send tool buttons to print a copy of the current page or email a link to it.

Using Gale General OneFile

• To utilize General OneFile, type your query in the Search field, choose Advanced Search for more search options or begin browsing by topic.
• You can also click on the Search Tool buttons on the main page to use the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search. The article’s webpage provides publication information.

• You have the option to listen to an audio version of an article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button. 
• The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles.
• The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.