News, Magazines, & Articles: Journal Articles

1. Use Academic OneFile Select by 1) typing in your query in the Search field, 2) choosing Advanced Search for more search options or 3) using the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search buttons on the home page. The Publication Search includes a browsable list of all the publications found in the database.

2. Each article’s webpage provides publication information at the top. You also have the option to listen to an audio version of the article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button . The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing. (See image below)

3. The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.

Using Gale General OneFile

• To utilize General OneFile, type your query in the Search field, choose Advanced Search for more search options or begin browsing by topic.
• You can also click on the Search Tool buttons on the main page to use the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search. The article’s webpage provides publication information.

• You have the option to listen to an audio version of an article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button. 
• The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles.
• The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. 

Searching MasterFILE Premier

• Use MasterFILE Premier by either typing in your query in the Basic Search field on the homepage or choosing Advanced Search for more options.

• Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase. Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your term(s).
• Advanced Search gives you options to use multiple search terms and narrow results by factors such as date and peer-reviewed articles. 

• Click on an item in your results list to view the record. The record will display the publication information. Click Access Options to view either the PDF or Online Full-Text or click Download.

• Use the tools in the upper right of the PDF or Full-Text article page to download, save, and print the article. You can also use the cite button to create a citation which can be exported using many popular bibliographic software.

• To use the “Add to Project” function to save information for access at another time, you must register for an account with EBSCO.

Searching or Browsing Points of View Reference Center

• You can utilize the Points of View Reference Center by browsing “In the News” or “Browse by Category” available on the main page, typing in your query in the Basic Search field, or choosing Advanced Search for more options. You can also browse the list of available subjects or publications in the database using the buttons in the upper left.

• Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase. Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your term(s). Advanced Search gives you options to limit your search by factors such as Document Type, Lexile Reading Level, Publication Date, and Publication Type.

​​​​​​​

• Click on an item in your results list to view the record. The record will display the publication information below the title. Click PDF or HTML Full text on the left-hand side of the page to begin reading the article.
• Use the Tools Menu on the right-hand side of the page to print, email, or save the article. You can also use the cite button to create a citation in multiple citation styles.
• To use the “Add to Folder” and “Create Note” functions to save information for access at another time, you must register for an account or sign into EBSCOhost with a Google Account by clicking Sign-In at the top of the page.