Genealogy: Library Databases

Using FamilySearch

• It is recommended that you create a FREE FamilySearch account and login using that account. 
• Manatee Library is an affiliate of FamilySearch, which means you can access millions of additional digital records not available to you from home. Visit any Manatee Library location and log in to a computer with your library card and your free FamilySearch account to access these additional records.
• After signing in, you have several options to navigate the site.

• Search is the main part of the site you will use to locate genealogy records.  From this tab, you can search records, images, the family tree, genealogies, the library’s catalog, books, and the site’s research wiki. 
• There are two ways to search: Typing information about your ancestor in the Search Historical Records box or clicking on the map to research by location.

• If you know a certain collection you would like to browse, such as the 1940 U.S. Census, you can also type that in the Find a Collection search box.  This will only search for records in this collection only.

Using HeritageQuest Online

• The home page of HeritageQuest consists of 3 tabs: Search, Research Aids, and Map.

• Click on Search to access census records, military records, city directories, and more.
• When viewing a record, the page will provide you with information on the individual, a scanned image of the original source when applicable, and a source citation.

• The Research Aids tab gives you search tips and helpful information on how to get started doing ancestry and genealogy research and how to use the census records and other resources available in HeritageQuest.
•   The Maps tab allows you to look at maps of all 50 states from 1790-1920 that show how the states and their counties have grown and changed over the years.

Searching or Browsing NewsBank:

• Use NewsBank by typing in your query in the Search field, choosing More Search Options to conduct an Advanced Search, or choosing among the popular holdings listed at the bottom of the page to browse by date. To quickly search for current events, select Hot Topics on the bottom-left side of the homepage.

• On the search results page, you will see the article title, publication date, and news source. Each result will also give you a preview of the article, specifically showing instances where your search term(s) were mentioned. Use the filters on the left to narrow your results.
• The article’s webpage provides additional publication information. Across the top of the article, there are icons you can select to choose citation style, adjust text size, email, print, download, share or save to your NewsBank folder.

• Click A-Z Source List on the homepage to browse the full list of sources available in the database. To view image editions of newspapers (exactly as they were printed), choose Format in the drop-down menu and enter “image” in the search box. This will show you all newspapers that have scanned images, such as the Bradenton Herald.
• You are not required to create an account, but can do so by selecting Session Folder on the top of the page and then “Create a Personal Folder.” This can be used to save articles and information found on NewsBank, to access again later.

Accessing The Bradenton Herald:

• Click Bradenton Herald Collection from the NewsBank main page.
• Type in your query in the Search field, select Advanced Search for more options, or choose from the browsable selection at the page to browse by date.

• The Bradenton Herald is available as a limited text-searchable article database (1989-current) or a full-paper image edition (2018-current). Limited Bradenton Herald blogs and videos (2007-2023) are also available.