Consumer & Legal Help: Library Databases

How to search the Legal Information Reference Center:

• Use Legal Information Reference Center by either typing in your query in the Basic Search field on the homepage or choosing Advanced Search for more options. 
•  Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase. Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your term(s). Advanced Search gives you options to use multiple search terms and narrow results by factors such as publication and date. 
• Click on an item in your results list to view the record. The record will display the publication information. Click the Access Options button to view either the PDF or Online Full-Text or click  Download.
• Use the tools in the upper right of the PDF or Full-Text article page to download, save, and print the article. You can also use the cite button to create a citation which can be exported using many popular bibliographic software.

Locating forms and form templates on Legal Information Reference Center:

• To look for forms, type the name of the form in the search box. Once you see your results, you can refine the list using the options underneath the search box. Select “All Filters” and then “Forms” under Source Type.

• Use the tools in the upper right of the PDF or Full-Text article page to download, save, and print the form.

Searching Consumer Reports

• Click Advanced Search underneath the search box on the main page.
• Type “Consumer Reports” in the first box and use the drop-down menu to the right to change from All Fields to Journal title/source.
• In the second box, type your topic (using only one or two keywords is best). You can also add additional search terms in the third box or click Search to see your results.

• On the results page, click the All Filters button below the search box (see image below) to further narrow your search by factors such as date.
• The date and issue information for each article will be listed under the article name and description.

• To view the article, click the Access options button and choose either Online full text or PDF. Note: the online full text version does not include the pictures originally printed in the magazine.
• The tools at the top of the article page will allow you to download , share , or print

1. Click Advanced Search underneath the search box on the main page.
2. Type “Consumer Reports” in the first box and use the drop-down menu to the right to change from All Fields to Journal title/source. Then click Search.
3. Click the All Filters button below the search box and set the date range for the month you wish to view.
4. Your search results will list each individual article that was published in your chosen month’s issue.

Using Gale General OneFile

• To utilize General OneFile, type your query in the Search field, choose Advanced Search for more search options or begin browsing by topic.
• You can also click on the Search Tool buttons on the main page to use the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search. The article’s webpage provides publication information.

• You have the option to listen to an audio version of an article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button. 
• The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles.
• The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.