Consumer & Legal Help: Books

This book is meant to help anyone who may need to make decisions about long-term care, either for themselves or for someone else. The book also contains a section about protecting yourself or a loved one from elder fraud.

As one of the world's most respected authorities on the subjects of fraud, forgery, and cyber security, Frank Abagnale knows how scammers work. In Scam Me If You Can, he reveals the latest tricks that today's scammers, hackers, and con artists use to steal your money and personal information--often online and over the phone.

When you're getting divorced, you can make a tough time easier for your children (and yourself) if you work with the other parent to draw up a custody plan and agree on child support. Doskow shows you how negotiation and mediation can keep costs down; where to find your state's child support guidelines; how to enforce and change custody and support orders; what military families need to know, and much more.

Presents a step-by-step guide through every aspect of the divorce process, and includes updated information on latest state rules for divorce.

Offers legal advice on creating a customized prenuptual agreement that covers understanding state laws, clarifying financial responsibilities, and protecting assests, and features a new chapter on agreements for same-sex couples.

The book walks you through all of the parenting issues and challenges you must consider, including: living arrangements and visitation; money issues; health care; education; religion; new partners and surnames; holidays, travel, and grandparent visits; different approaches to discipline and public health measures; alcohol and drug use; and working with professionals.

Find out about the most promising opportunities for U.S. lawful residence and how to handle the complex application procedures in How to Get a Green Card. The 16th edition covers immigration fee changes, raised income requirements for immigrants, and the latest on the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program (DACA). It also includes filled-in samples of all key application forms

Everything you need to become a naturalized U.S. citizen ... The 11th edition is updated with the latest laws, procedures, and government policies. It includes sample forms, handy checklists, and a study guide to the citizenship exam.

Green cards, visas, and more: What every immigrant needs to know. Want to live, work, or travel in the United States?You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation; how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents; insider strategies for dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials; ways to overcome low income and other immigration barriers; and how to select the right attorney.

The book that's helped thousands of couples live in the U.S. together. You're engaged or married to a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and all you want is the right to be together in the United States.

This book provides legal and practical information for tenants and also contains dozens of sample letters and forms. Topics discussed include: getting landlords to make repairs by using rent withholding or repair-and-deduct; avoiding disputes with roommates over rent, deposits, guests, and noise; fighting illegal discrimination, retaliation, or sexual harassment; dealing with environmental hazards like lead paint, mold, or bedbugs; breaking a lease with minimum liability; and getting a security deposit returned on time.

Learn: the unique legal features of LLCs, including limited personal liability for owners; who should--and who shouldn't--form an LLC; when to choose an LLC instead of a corporation, partnership, or other business form; how LLCs are taxed; how to manage multiple-owner LLCs, and why an LLC can be the right choice even for a debt-troubled business.

The book helps owners and managers successfully begin and run a small business, covering topics like raising start-up money, protecting personal assets, negotiating leases and contracts, and more.

Neighbor Law is a plain-English guide to the laws behind common neighbor disputes such as noisy neighbors, trees that hang over a property line, blocked views, unclear boundary lines, high, unsightly, or deteriorating fences, dangers to children, problems with neighboring businesses, and other common issues such as secondhand smoke, blighted property, and animal issues

The legal forms and state rules every landlord and property manager needs to keep up with the law and make money as a residential landlord, you need a guide you can trust: Every Landlord's Legal Guide. From move-in to move-out, here's help with legal, financial, and day-to-day issues. You'll avoid hassles and headaches--not to mention legal fees and lawsuits.

The reader will learn how to choose a trademark that distinguishes their business from competitors, search for marks that might conflict with their own, register a mark with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, protect marks from unauthorized use by others, resolve trademark disputes outside the courtroom, and create an Internet presence and secure a domain name

Here you'll find the forms you need to start and grow your business. Each document comes with thorough, plain-English, line-by-line instructions to help you: write contracts, prepare corporate bylaws, prepare an LLC operating agreement, buy a business, hire employees and consultants, create noncompete agreements, protect your trade secrets, record minutes of meetings, lease commercial space, buy real estate, borrow or lend money, and much more.

Get the need-to-know basics about wills, trusts, avoiding probate, and planning for incapacity with Estate Planning Basics. This book lays out your options in plain English, guiding you to the right estate plan for you and your family.

Quick & Legal Will Book provides the forms and step-by-step instructions to create a simple, valid will that protects family and property after death. This book explains how to name beneficiaries to inherit assets, choose a guardian for young children, set up a trust for minors, name an executor (and a backup), choose appropriate witnesses, finalize a will, and revoke or change the will if necessary. This book also explains basic estate planning, including steps one can take to avoid probate court

A do-it-yourself manual for making your own living trust, with checklists, step-by-step procedures, worksheets, and forms.

This guide shows the reader how to administer a living trust step by step. It discusses how to: decide whether to take on the job of trustee; set up ongoing trusts for surviving spouses, children, or beneficiaries with special needs; invest trust assets; get help from lawyers, financial planners, and other experts; handle taxes and prepare accountings; work effectively with beneficiaries; and distribute trust property.

This book provides the information and encouragement you need to create security for your property, your children, and your health. In plain English, it covers every standard estate planning topic in detail. The information in this book will help you formulate your plan and will save you time and money, whether you create your own estate plan or go to a lawyer for assistance.

Attorney Alexander A. Bove, Jr. synthesizes his decades of field and classroom experience into honest, clear, and entertaining explanations of a host of complex legal topics, including: how to create a will and living trust how to use a will to avoid probate and legal complications how trusts work and how to use trusts to save taxes how to contest a will and how to avoid a contest how to settle an estate or make a claim against one how to establish a durable power of attorney how to protect assets from creditors.

This book helps estate planners make sure assets go to the right people. Almost anyone can benefit from this book: anybody with a bank account, retirements account or real estate can use the probate avoidance methods in this book.