Small Business: Library Databases

Find a Business or Person

• From the homepage, use the Quick Lookup search boxes to search by Business Name, Headquarters Location, First and Last Name, City, State, or Phone Number. Click Advanced Search for additional search options.

• From the search results, click on the record you would like to view. You can email records to one or more email address, or print and download records to Excel or PDF formats.

• To find new businesses or search by business creation date, go to the homepage and click "Get Started" under 2 Million NEW Businesses.
• Use Universal Search to cross-search Business & Consumer databases.
• 350,000 NEW Movers/HomeOwners is updated weekly. It allows you to search by move distance, housing type, geography, and it will also give the previous known address for an individual. You'll also find new homeowners who have recently purchased their home.

Using Business (Gale)

• To utilize the Business database from Gale, type your query in the Search field, or choose Advanced Search for more search options or begin browsing by topic.
• You can also click on the Search Tool buttons on the main page to use the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search. The article’s webpage provides publication information.
• Results will include journal articles, magazine articles, news, images and videos. You can sort article from Newest first or by Relevance.
• Once you click on an article in the results, you have the option to listen to an audio version of an article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button. 
• The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles.
• The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. 

Searching for Courses

• Type a subject into the search bar at the top of the page (to get the search bar in the app, tap the magnifying glass), OR
• Click on Content on the left side of the page. Topics are organized into four main categories: Business, Technology, Creative, and Certifications. Each category contains sub-topics, software skills, and learning paths. Click on a sub-topic to explore available courses.

Taking Courses

• To save a video for later, tap the Save button to the right of the video. Courses you save for later can be found under My Library.
• Click or tap on a course to go to the page for that lesson.

• Courses can be downloaded in the app to view offline. Tap the Download Course button below the video player to download the entire course or tap the download button  next to an individual video in the table of contents to only download that part.
• Beneath the video player, you will find an overview of the lesson, a notebook where you can take and save notes, and a transcript for those who prefer to read the lesson. The video player also includes a closed caption button for subtitles.

• Some courses include exercise files the instructor uses to teach the course. Under the video, in the Overview tab, click Show all next to Exercise Files to download these files.

• Once downloaded, unzip the folder by right-clicking and selecting either “Open” or “Extract All”. Many of these files will require the software application used to create them to run (for example, to use exercise files about Photoshop, you must have Photoshop installed on your computer). Software is not included in LinkedIn Learning.

Course Certificates

• After completing a course, you may earn a certificate. These can be viewed on the lesson page, under the Overview tab. Click Show all next to Certificates and click LinkedIn Learning Certificate. Next, click Download PDF.
• You can also download certificates from the My Learning button, under the Learning History tab. Click the 3-dots menu icon  to the right of a course you’ve completed and click Download Certificate.

Searching Gale Business Insights

You can search Business Insights by:

• typing your query in the Search box
• or choosing Advanced Search for more search options
• or browsing by scrolling down the page to Companies, Publications, Topics, Industries & more

Once you enter a search, the results page will have several filter options (see images below):

Filter by Publication type

Other Filters

An article’s webpage (example below) provides publication information. The Explore column will give you more articles and content related to the current article. You also have the option to listen to an audio version of the article by clicking the “Listen” button .

The Cite button allows you to create a citation for an article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes button allows you to make and save annotations within an article. You can email, download, and print a PDF of the article, as well as send it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.

Using Entrepreneurship Center

Entrepreneurship Center allows you to conduct a Basic or Advanced Search and view/search a glossary of business terms

• The home page includes organized content boxes in the four key stages of business: Plan, Fund, Start, and Manage.
• Click the Browse Topics button to browse a list of popular subjects organized by Business Topic, Business Type, and How To.
• The Cite button allows you to create a citation for an article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes button allows you to make and save annotations within an article. You can email, download, and print a PDF of the article, as well as send it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.
• An article’s webpage (example below) provides publication information. The Explore column will give you more articles and content related to the current article. You also have the option to listen to an audio version of the article by clicking the Listen button .

Using Leadership and Management (Gale)

• To utilize the Leadership and Management database from Gale, type your query in the Search field, or choose Advanced Search for more search options or begin browsing by topic.
• You can also click on the Search Tool buttons on the main page to use the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search. The article’s webpage provides publication information.
• Results will include journal articles, magazine articles, news, images and videos. You can sort article from Newest first or by Relevance.
• Once you click on an article in the results, you have the option to listen to an audio version of an article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the listen button. 
• The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles.
• The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. 

Using DemographicsNow

• Start by establishing the desired location for your report. You can enter an address, city, zip-code, county, or state in the location box in the upper right or use the Location Options menu to create a geography list to compare several locations.

• Run demographic reports by clicking the Demographics tab and using the drop-down menus to choose your report type. You can download the report as a PDF, Word document, or Excel spreadsheet.

• You can also set your location and select demographic criteria using the map tool. Click the Map tab and use the legend to the right of the screen to customize the variables you wish to view under Thematic Controls.

• Click the Tutorials tab to view training videos on DemographicsNow.