Grant Writing: Recommended Websites

Candid (formerly GuideStar & Foundation Center) provides comprehensive social sector data, training, and grantseeker research tools.

The Grantsmanship Center provides listings of top grant-making foundations, community foundations, and corporate giving by state; free webcasts and blog articles; and face-to-face workshops.

Provides guidelines for grant writing in general and in the scientific disciplines. Although primarily intended for graduate students and university faculty, the writing suggestions can be useful for any individual writing a grant application.

An easy-to-use index of federal grants and loans organized by sponsoring agency, applicant type, and subject area.

A comprehensive subscription database of grant-making organizations and funders. The Sarasota County Library System offers free access to Foundation Directory Online at the Jacaranda and Selby library branches. Call (941) 861-1110 for more information.

Provides a central location for applicants to find information on and apply for over 1,000 federal grant programs. Most of the funding opportunities on Grants.gov are for organizations, not individuals.

Provides a full listing of all Federal funding programs available to state and local governments; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. This source is particularly useful for finding grants to individuals.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics is a group of federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families.

The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

The National Center for Health Statistics provides statistical information about the health of the American people.

Provides statistics measuring labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy.

A great source of statistical data on the population of the United States. Includes demographic, educational, housing, and financial data broken down by Census track, block or block group, zip code, congressional district, state, region, or national.