LibGuides: Grant Writing: Library Databases

How to Access Library Databases:

1. Go to the library's website and click on the orange "Research & Learning" button and then on the "Articles, Research & Information" button.

2. From the A-Z Databases list, you can use the subject drop-down menu to filter the list by subject, or you can find the database you are seeking alphabetically.

3. If you are accessing these databases from outside of the library, you may be prompted to enter your library card barcode number and 4-digit PIN.

Library Databases

DemographicsNow

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A powerful tool, DemographicsNow allows users to connect with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data on more than 24 million U.S. businesses and 206 million consumers—making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insight.
Access a demographic report on any geography–or compare multiple geographies–for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more.

Printer-Friendly Instructions - DemographicsNow

Using DemographicsNow

Start by establishing the desired location for your report. You can enter an address, city, zip-code, county, or state in the location box in the upper right or use the Location Options menu to create a geography list to compare several locations.

Geo filter to set desired location and Options menu

Run demographic reports by clicking the Demographics tab and using the drop-down menus to choose your report type. You can download the report as a PDF, Word document, or Excel spreadsheet.

Example of a demographic comparison chart using the Demographics tab

You can also set your location and select demographic criteria using the map tool. Click the Map tab and use the legend to the right of the screen to customize the variables you wish to view under Thematic Controls.

View of the Maps tab and the Thematic Controls menu

Click the Tutorials tab to view training videos on DemographicsNow.

Comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Covers more than 23,000 organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search for information about companies, publishers, and associations, and more with Gale's Directory Library, a collection of premier directories that provide business researchers with access to information that cannot be found elsewhere on the Internet.

Using Encyclopedia of Associations

Start by locating the Gale Directory Library in the A-Z Databases list
Select Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Enter a search term or "Select an Edition within this Series"
After entering a search term, you can filter results

When you choose a result, the Cite button allow Sharing buttons for Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, email, download, and print s you to create a citation for an article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes button allows you to make and save annotations within an article. You can email, download, and print a PDF of the article, as well as send it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.