Health & Medicine: Recommended Websites

The "Diseases and Conditions" section covers major chronic and many infectious diseases, plus birth defects, traveler's health, emergency preparedness, vaccine and immunization
information, accidents & injury information, and workplace safety & health. Available in Spanish.

Reliable health information for children, teens, and seniors providing many helpful
health tools, such as a symptom checker, dictionary, BMI calculator, an immunization schedule, drug information and health management advice. Available in Spanish.

Browse Health Topics, screening questions to ask your doctor, healthy shopping lists, tips on staying active, and much more. Available in Spanish.

A wealth of easy-to-understand health & medical information, including descriptions of drugs, supplements, tests, procedures, healthy living guides, symptom checker, and expert blogs. Available in Spanish, Portugese, Arabic, and Chinese.

This is an excellent first choice for consumer health information. Accurate and current medical information from the National Library of Medicine. Includes drug information, illustrated medical dictionary, latest health news, surgery videos, and interactive health tutorials. Also in Spanish.

Wide-ranging medical resource for consumers that includes alphabetical health topic list, generic & brand drug information, and a self-assessment tool. Available in German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, and Arabic.

Includes topics A-Z, Herbs-at-a-Glance, Complementary Health Practitioner locator, videos, and Spanish-language information. Available in Spanish.

Medline, PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, and other medical research plus COVID studies

From the Nemours nonprofit children's health system, this site provides doctor reviewed advice on physical, emotional, and behavioral topics with separate sections for parents, kids, and teens. Available in Spanish.

Enroll or change health care coverage plans.

Includes free, subsidized, and full-pay options based on family income and household size. Matches children with programs such as Medicaid & MediKids

Provides access to health care for low-income families and individuals. Also assists elderly and people with disabilities with costs of nursing facility care and other medical & long-term care expenses.

Serving Health Insurance Needs of Elders (SHINE) is a free program offered by the Florida Department of Elder Affairs and your local Area Agency on Aging.

Provides health coverage to low-income people and is one of the largest payers for health care in the United States

Free or low-cost health and dental coverage for children and teens.

Medicare is health insurance for people 65 or older. You may be eligible to get Medicare earlier if you have a disability.

The "Medicare & You" handbook is your official guide to Medicare.

This website explains the drug inserts in prescription packages.

For help paying for prescriptions.

Easy-to-search database of medications, step-by-step directions for some self-administering, expert pharmacist advice, and medication tracking tool.

Drugs.com provides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products. This material is provided for educational purposes only and is not intended for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.