Health & Medicine: Library Databases

Using Medline Plus

MedlinePlus has the following collections:

• Health Topics: More than 1,000 pages covering wellness issues and the symptoms, causes, treatment, and prevention of diseases, illnesses, and health conditions.
• Medical Encyclopedia: Articles and images related to hundreds of diseases and conditions.
• Medical Tests: Descriptions of nearly 300 medical tests. Includes what the test is used for, why a healthcare provider might order the test, how the test will feel, and what the results may mean.
• Drugs and Supplements: Prescription and over-the-counter medication information and information on herbs and supplements.
• Genetics: Information on more than 1,300 genetic conditions, 1,400 genes, each of the 23 pairs of human chromosomes, and mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA). MedlinePlus Genetics also includes an educational handbook called Help Me Understand Genetics, which explores topics in human genetics from the basics of DNA to genomic research and personalized medicine.
• National Institutes of Health: Links to articles and images created by the 27 Institutes and Centers at NIH. Each Institute or Center has a specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems.
• Healthy Recipes: Recipes that show you how to prepare tasty, healthy meals. The recipes use easy-to-follow instructions and include nutrition information.
• MedlinePlus Magazine: Articles that appear in the online version of the NIH MedlinePlus Magazine.
• Multiple Languages: Links to high-quality health information in languages in addition to English and Spanish.

Using Nursing and Allied Health

• Begin using Nursing and Allied Health by either typing in your query in the Search Box on the homepage or by choosing Advanced Search for more options.
• Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase.  Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your terms(s).
• Click on an item in your results list to view the article. Click on the icons on the right above the article to download, print, or send the article to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.

• On the homepage under the search bar you will find three Search Tools: Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Guide Search.
• Click on Topic Finder for visualization of topic and related subjects
• Under Search Tools, click on Subject Guide Search for Subdivisions and Related Subjects.
• Under Search Tools, click on Publication Guide Search for specific journal publications.

Using Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile):

• Begin by 1) typing in your query in the Search field, 2) choosing Advanced Search for more search options, or 3) using the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search buttons on the homepage. The Publication Search includes a browsable list of all the publications found in the database.

• Select an article. Each article page provides publication information at the top. Click the Listen button  to listen to an audio version of the article or download the mp3 recording. The explore column shows you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The Cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes button allows you to make annotations within an article.
• You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. 

How to Search

• Begin by either typing in your query in the Search Box on the homepage or by choosing Advance Search for more options.
• Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase.  Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your terms(s).
• Select on an item in your results list to view the article. Select the icons on the right above the article to download, print, or send the article to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.

Explore by Topic

• Under the search bar, there is a box highlighting Topics of Interest. Use the arrows on either side of the box to scroll through topics and then select Explore this Topic for in-depth information and resources.

• Explore further topics under the Browse Topics heading. Select Browse All Topics to browse an alphabetical list of topics.

Finding Trustworthy Medical Information with Gale Health & Wellness:

Using Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine:

• Begin by 1) typing in your query in the Search field, 2) choosing Advanced Search for more search options, or 3) using the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search buttons on the homepage. The Publication Search includes a browsable list of all the publications found in the database.

• Results will include journal articles, magazine articles, news, images and videos. You can sort article from Newest first or by Relevance.
• Select an article. Each article page provides publication information at the top. Click the Listen button  to listen to an audio version of the article or download the mp3 recording. The explore column shows you more content related to the article you are viewing.
• The Cite button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes button allows you to make annotations within an article.
• You may email, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.