Skip to Main Content

Government Documents: Home

A guide to federal, state, and local government documents. Manatee County Public Library System is a "digital" repository library, participating in the Federal Depository Library Program. Guide prepared by Information Services staff.

Federal Government Documents

Congressional Record [ X ] The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session

Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation

Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents

Federal Emergency Management Agency [FEMA]

Federal Register Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Public Papers of the Presidents [ AE ] The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. The Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available.

Social Security Bulletin [ SSA ] 

United States Government Manual

 

Code of Federal Regulations [ CFR ] The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
 
Congressional Hearings [ Y ] A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law.
 
United States Code [ AE ] The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
 
 
The World Factbook  [shelved in reference] The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
 
 
 

Budget of the United States Government [ PREX ] Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance 

Economic Indicators [ Y ] Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

 

What is the Federal Depository Library Program?

Every day the U.S. Government issues congressional bills, laws, regulations, presidential documents, studies, and other documents on a variety of topics. The Federal Depository Library Program (44 U.S.C. § 19), administered by the U.S. Government Publishing Office, was established by Congress in 1813 to ensure that the American public has access to Government information in depository libraries throughout the U.S. and its territories. Members of Congress may designate up to two qualified libraries.

Where Can I Find a Depository Library?

You can visit and use free of charge the collections at any of our Nation’s 1,150 Federal depository libraries. Locate a Federal depository library near you.

What Resources Will I Find at a Depository Library?

With a network of librarians to provide expert reference assistance and facilitate access to materials located at other libraries, you will find:

  • information on health, careers, business opportunities, the military, science, technology, travel, nutrition, and more

  • books, maps, microfiche, journals, and periodicals

  • access to digital Government information resources. NOTE: Manatee County Central Library is largely a "digital" repository

  • historical publications dating back to the early days of the United States

Contact

For more information, contact the Federal Depository Library Program at 202.512.1119 or by email at fdlpoutreach@gpo.gov.

Manatee County Government Documents

Manatee County Ordinances, Land Development Code, and Comprehensive Plan (via Municode)

Manatee County Board of County Commissioners Meetings and Agendas

Manatee County Government

Manatee County Clerk of Circuit Court County Board Records

Public Review documents and historic local government documents are located in the Eaton collection of the Central Library (1301 Barcarrota Blvd W)

For help locating any Government Document, please contact Information Services staff at reference@mymanatee.org

Information Services Supervisor