Auto, Engine, & Home Repair: Library Databases

Searching Consumer Reports

• Click Advanced Search underneath the search box on the main page.
• Type “Consumer Reports” in the first box and use the drop-down menu to the right to change from All Fields to Journal title/source.
• In the second box, type your topic (using only one or two keywords is best). You can also add additional search terms in the third box or click Search to see your results.

• On the results page, click the All Filters button below the search box (see image below) to further narrow your search by factors such as date.
• The date and issue information for each article will be listed under the article name and description.

• To view the article, click the Access options button and choose either Online full text or PDF. Note: the online full text version does not include the pictures originally printed in the magazine.
• The tools at the top of the article page will allow you to download , share , or print

1. Click Advanced Search underneath the search box on the main page.
2. Type “Consumer Reports” in the first box and use the drop-down menu to the right to change from All Fields to Journal title/source. Then click Search.
3. Click the All Filters button below the search box and set the date range for the month you wish to view.
4. Your search results will list each individual article that was published in your chosen month’s issue.

Using Auto Repair Source

• Search for a vehicle. Select Year, Make, Model, and Engine of your vehicle using the drop-down menus at the top of the screen.
• Select from the list of available engine and car parts using the menu found on the left-hand side. (See image to right)
• Alternatively, you can search for a keyword within the vehicle information using the Search Box found at the top of the list.
• You can view a maintenance timetable for your vehicle by selecting Maintenance Schedule in the list of available topics and entering your mileage.

• You can also look-up parts and labor information by selecting Parts & Labor in the list and narrowing your search via the drop-down menus.

Using Small Engine Repair Reference Center

• Type in your query in the Basic Search field or browse the available topics and subcategories on the homepage.
• Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase. Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your term(s). Advanced Search gives you options to use multiple search terms and narrow results by factors such as date and by publication.

• Click on an item in your results list to view the record which will display the publication information. Click the Access Now button to be taken to either the PDF or Online Full Text article.
• Use the tools buttons in the upper right of the page to download, save, or share the article. You can also use the cite button to create a citation. 
• To use the Add to Project button to save information for access at another time, you must register for an account with EBSCO.

Using Home Improvement Source

• Type in your query in the Basic Search field or browse the available topics and subcategories on the homepage.

• Basic Search allows you to enter a word or phrase. Search suggestions will appear as you begin to type your term(s). Advanced Search gives you options to use multiple search terms and narrow results by factors such as date and peer reviewed articles.

• Click on an item in your results list to view the record which will display the publication information. Click the Access Now button to be taken to either the PDF or Online Full Text article.

• Use the tools buttons in the upper right of the page to download, save, or share the article. You can also use the cite button to create a citation. 

• To use the Add to Project button to save information for access at another time, you must register for an account with EBSCO.

Using Home Improvement Collection

• Type in your query in the Search field or choose Advanced Search for more search options.

• Alternatively, use the Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, or Publication Search buttons on the home page. The Publication Search includes a browsable list of all the publications found in the database.

• Each article’s webpage provides publication information at the top. You also have the option to listen to an audio version of the article or download the mp3 recording by clicking the “Listen” button  found below the publication information. The explore column will show you more content related to the article you are viewing. 
• The "Cite" button  allows you to create a citation for the article in multiple citation styles. The Highlights and Notes feature allows you to make annotations within an article. You may e-mail, download, and print a pdf of the article, as well as upload it to your Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive.

Getting Started  

1. Install the Hoopla Digital app on your Android, iOS, or Kindle Fire device.
2. Click Sign Up.
3.  Search for "Manatee County Public Library".
4. Create a Hoopla account by entering a valid email address, a password consisting of at least eight characters, and your library card barcode number.
5. Click Sign Up to complete the process.

Find & Borrow Items

• Tap Search at the bottom of your screen. Enter your search term(s) into the search box. Tap Advanced Search to narrow your search to a specific format, language, author, genre, or more.

• To browse, tap on one of the formats listed at the top of the Hoopla Home page. Swipe left to view more format options. After choosing a format, you can look at Recommended, Featured, Popular, Categories/Genres of items, and more.

• Click on an item's cover or title to see additional information about this item.
• Click the Borrow button underneath the book cover. The item is now checked out to you.
• You are permitted to borrow 5 items per month. This number resets on the 1st of each month. Unused borrows do not carry over to the next month.

Download Items

• When using the app, you have the option to download eBooks, eAudiobooks, music, movies, and television shows after you check them out.

• This allows you to listen to or watch the item without being connected to Wi-Fi or a cellular data network.

Return Items

• Items return automatically at the end of the loan period. No late fees!

• To return an item early, scroll to the bottom of the item summary and tap Return. Note that returning an item early doesn’t impact your five checkouts per month limit. 

Getting Started

• Click the Get Started button in the center of the homepage, then click Let's Go.
• Search for "Manatee County Public Library" and click Next.
• Enter the barcode number from the back of your library card.
• Create an account for Hoopla by entering a valid email address and a password consisting of at least eight characters.
• Click the Complete Registration button to complete the sign-up process.

Find & Borrow Items

• Enter your search term(s) in the search box at the top of the screen. Use the drop-down menu to narrow your search from Everything to a specific format, author, category, or more.
• Click on Browse to browse items by format. From there, you can look through sections such as Recommended, Featured, Popular, Categories/Genres of items, and more.
• Click on an item's cover or title to see additional information about this item.
• Click the Borrow button underneath the book cover. The item is now checked out to you.

Read Items

1. Click My Hoopla at the top of your screen and then click Currently Borrowed.
2. Hoopla will display a list of all of your currently borrowed items, their due dates, and the number of borrows you have remaining for the month.
3. Click on the item you wish to open. Click Read or Resume underneath the item cover.

Return Items

• Items return automatically at the end of the loan period. No late fees!

• To return an item early, scroll to the bottom of the item summary and click on the Return button. Note that returning an item early doesn’t impact your five checkouts per month limit.